Saturday, November 17, 2018
 Proliant Dairy’s VersiLac® Meets Gluten-Free Definition  

Proliant Dairy Ingredients is pleased to announce that VersiLac®, their economical dairy solid, meets the final rule of the Food and Drug Administration’s definition for gluten-free.  The compliance date for this final rule is August 5, 2014 and includes foods that inherently contain no gluten.  Any unavoidable presence of gluten in the food must be below 20 parts per million (ppm).   

“According to the results of the ELISA R5- Mendez Method, VersiLac® contains <5ppm gluten, which is well below the required <20ppm,” states Mark Kuennen, Proliant’s Director of Quality Assurance. 

The increasing number of people who experience gluten sensitivities or celiac disease is growing dramatically and the only recognized treatment remains a strict adherence to a gluten-free diet. Linda Myhr, Proliant Dairy’s Director of Sales states “Proliant Dairy is pleased to provide a gluten-free, economical, dairy ingredient that food manufacturers need in order to develop new and innovative gluten-free products.” 

VersiLac® is a highly versatile and innovative dairy ingredient, and is the result of a unique combination of raw materials and a proprietary production process.  Containing over 86% lactose, VersiLac® provides food formulators a high quality, low cost, dairy-based alternative to many higher priced dairy ingredients, including lactose, whey powder, and nonfat dry milk / skim milk powder in a variety of food systems, all while maintaining a consistent dairy-based, gluten-free label.  In addition to dairy ingredients, VersiLac® has been proven to replace or reduce the amount of salt, sugar, chocolate and a variety of other non-dairy ingredients.   

For more information on Proliant Dairy please feel free to contact Linda Myhr at (303) 953 – 8258. 

Further detail on the FDA’s final rule for the definition of gluten-free can be found at:  including the following excerpt: “The Food and Drug Administration (FDA or we) is issuing a final rule to define the term “gluten-free” for voluntary use in the labeling of foods. The final rule defines the term “gluten-free” to mean that the food bearing the claim does not contain an ingredient that is a gluten-containing grain (e.g., spelt wheat); an ingredient that is derived from a gluten-containing grain and that has not been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat flour); or an ingredient that is derived from a gluten-containing grain and that has been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat starch), if the use of that ingredient results in the presence of 20 parts per million (ppm) or more gluten in the food (i.e., 20 milligrams (mg) or more gluten per kilogram (kg) of food); or inherently does not contain gluten; and that any unavoidable presence of gluten in the food is below 20 ppm gluten (i.e., below 20 mg gluten per kg of food).” 

Source: Proliant Dairy Ingredients

Posted on Monday, January 27, 2014 (Archive on Monday, February 03, 2014)
Posted by  Contributed by